Regulators in Michigan introduced on Thursday that license charges for authorized medical marijuana companies within the state shall be transitioning to a tier-based system starting on October 1. Below the plan, most companies would see a discount in charges or no change, though some corporations will find yourself paying extra.
Andrew Brisbo, the director of the Marijuana Regulatory Company, mentioned that medical marijuana corporations will now pay license charges based mostly on their dimension.
“We wish to make the charges moderately associated to the dimensions of the operation, so companies are paying an equitable share,” said Brisbo.
Below the rules presently in place, small cultivation operations can apply for a Class A license, which carries a charge of $10,000 as soon as the grower has been accredited by the state. Different medical marijuana companies pay $66,000, up from the unique $48,000 charge that went into impact in July 2018. Hashish testing labs are usually not required to pay a license charge.
Below the brand new tiered system that goes into impact on October 1, the Class A growers license charge of $10,000 is not going to change. Different companies can pay charges based mostly on a three-tier system. New licensees can pay the middle-tier charge when they’re initially accredited by the state.
Class B growers can pay license charges of $24,000, $30,000, or $36,000 based mostly the dimensions of the operation. Class C growers and processors can pay $45,000, $56,000, or $67,000. Provisioning facilities (dispensaries) and safe transporters can pay $36,000, $44,000, or $52,000.
Brisbo mentioned that the brand new charges had been set to cowl the prices of regulating the state’s medical marijuana trade.
“We attempt to set the charges merely to offset the charges of our company and the opposite prices inbuilt from the MMFLA (Medical Marihuana Amenities Licensing Act),” Brisbo mentioned.
Leisure Pot License Charges Decrease
State regulators have additionally launched the license charges for companies to take part in Michigan’s authorized recreational pot market, which launches later this yr. These license charges will truly be decrease than the charges for medical marijuana companies. For instance, medical marijuana provisioning facilities can pay $36,000 to $52,000 to resume their license whereas an identical license for a leisure hashish store will price $20,000 to $30,000 to resume.
Brisbo mentioned that the discrepancy in charges for leisure hashish and medical marijuana companies is because of state guidelines that require some medical marijuana licensing charges to be diverted to exterior applications. The funds go to the state well being division to assist substance abuse applications, to the Michigan State Police for traditional area sobriety testing and police coaching, and to the Division of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs for licensing substance use dysfunction applications.
The Marijuana Regulatory Authority will start accepting license purposes for leisure hashish companies on November 1.